Loading
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: First Base Interference Intent?

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse lazy42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default First Base Interference Intent?

    Okay, so last night at my daughters HS Varsity game, we were playing the 1st place team currently in conference (we are currently two games back in 2nd), game was at home, so big game and big crowd. Daughter starts at 2nd base. Here is the situation:

    Runner on 2nd, one out. Batter shows bunt, and lays down a good one. Daughter heads over to cover first, pitcher picks ball up throws towards first, throw was low but catchable. Daughter crouches down, to make sure if ball is not caught, she can block. Maintains her side of the bag and doesn't cross base path per daughter(same story by other witnesses that had a view of the basepath, we sit in the outfield so I can't verify myself). As the ball comes in on the throw, the girl running drops her head, shoulder, and TACKLES my daughter. Not runs into her, but TACKLES her. Two hand wrap up under the armpits and everything, as they lay on the ground, the girl had to actually pull her hands out from underneith my daughter to get back up. Ball didn't pass them, but was enough to allow girls on 2nd to get home.

    So, no calls were made, girl safe at home and on first. There could have been two possible calls here, which is my question. One being some sort of interference or intent call at first, should have been an automatic out and maybe me being somewhat biased, other girl should have been thrown out of game. Two being even if that call was not made, should the runner on 2nd be allowed to continue home after the hit and the ball lying there. I could have sworn the ump yelled time as they gathered themselves.

    PS, the one good thing that is funny about this, my DD is stacked, ripped. She brushed herself off and got up like nothing happened (which is great especially since the other girl had a helmet on). So we are glad she wasn't hurt, but proud also on how she carried herself after the game. One thing that does irritate me, is our FA catcher (FA being two words that rhyme with Bat Class) was too lazy to get all of the bunts for the evening, blamed my daughter for the loss after the game (she usually blames the dugout for losses), and said once she got hit thats when the girls started to loose the game. Actually, I thought it pumped several of the girls up, on how DD reacted. Anyway, sorry for the long read.

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,766
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 518 Times in 345 Posts

    Default

    If it happened exactly as you described, batter runner should have been called for interference, dead ball, runner on 2nd returned to 2nd and then malicious contact by the batter runner and ejected from game.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    lazy42 (06-21-2013)

  4. #3
    Always learning... Eric F's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    2,461
    Thanks
    1,020
    Thanked 1,126 Times in 738 Posts

    Default

    I'm not a rules expert, but it seems to me (based on this description) that at a MINIMUM it should be interference at first, and batter-runner is out. Runner at second is allowed third, but not home, unless the runner was already past third when the play at first happened.
    Last edited by Eric F; 06-21-2013 at 01:04 PM.
    Sierra Madre Girls Softball Association

    Hit hard...run fast...turn left...

  5. The Following User Says Thank You to Eric F For This Useful Post:

    lazy42 (06-21-2013)

  6. #4
    Softball Junkie David Carter's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Universal City Texas
    Posts
    963
    Thanks
    103
    Thanked 248 Times in 195 Posts

    Default

    The only time contact like you described should ever happen might be on a play where there is no play at first and runner is attempting round the bag but the defensive player is on the bag or if the throw is down the home plate side of first and girls run into each other .

    As you described Comps assessment makes the most sense but as always the these cases YHTBT.

  7. The Following User Says Thank You to David Carter For This Useful Post:

    lazy42 (06-21-2013)

  8. #5
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    Certified softball maniac MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    2,143
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 242 Times in 188 Posts

    Default

    Assuming single base.

    I'm trying to imagine how someone can "crouch" down to block a ball without going to a knee with her arms away from her body at an angle the BR could get low enough and get her arms inside the fielders.

    I'm not offering a comment on the ruling one way or the other, just trying to visualize.

  9. #6
    Checking out the clubhouse lazy42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Iowa
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    12
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

    Default

    Fair question, good one too by the way.

    She got low enough as the ball was coming in, that it looked as if she were playing catcher, if that helps you visualize. Obviously, she would not normally catch or stop the ball that way, but play developed quickly and did what she could to stop the ball. Also, the pitcher picked up the ball where the catcher should have (near the plate but I already commented on our catcher), so the BR and ball angle were near parallel.

    Quote Originally Posted by MTR View Post
    Assuming single base.

    I'm trying to imagine how someone can "crouch" down to block a ball without going to a knee with her arms away from her body at an angle the BR could get low enough and get her arms inside the fielders.

    I'm not offering a comment on the ruling one way or the other, just trying to visualize.

  10. #7
    Checking out the clubhouse mgardner's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    SW Ohio
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eric F View Post
    I'm not a rules expert, but it seems to me (based on this description) that at a MINIMUM it should be interference at first, and batter-runner is out. Runner at second is allowed third, but not home, unless the runner was already past third when the play at first happened.
    The runner at second is only entitled to the last base touched at the time of the interference.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --