When look back rule goes in to effect on a walk

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 17, 2020
3
1
In google searches I see some old language that at one point the look back rule didn’t go in to effect until the batter/runner touched 1B (on a walk when the ball was back in the circle).

Can anyone confirm if this is still the case?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Aug 21, 2008
1,909
113
In google searches I see some old language that at one point the look back rule didn’t go in to effect until the batter/runner touched 1B (on a walk when the ball was back in the circle).

Can anyone confirm if this is still the case?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I might have this wrong but I don't think there's any part of the rule that matters until the runner (person who walked) stops at first base. There is NOTHING in the rules that prevents the runner from jogging to 1st, and then accelerating to 2nd base if nobody is covering. Regardless of where the ball is, regardless of if the pitcher has the ball in the circle. As long as that runner keeps moving they are allowed to even ROUND first base as through they've had a base hit. But once that batter/runner stops at 1st, now the "look back" goes into effect.
 
May 7, 2015
679
93
SoCal
The rule goes into effect after touching 1B. They are allowed to round 1B on the way to 2B (I've seen some creative lines out to the grass), momentarily stop and either continue completely to 2B or completely back to 1B with no further changes of directions. The rule stops when the pitcher either throws the ball or pretends to throw the ball.
 
Jun 17, 2020
3
1
The rule goes into effect after touching 1B. They are allowed to round 1B on the way to 2B (I've seen some creative lines out to the grass), momentarily stop and either continue completely to 2B or completely back to 1B with no further changes of directions. The rule stops when the pitcher either throws the ball or pretends to throw the ball.

The question I have is regarding a runner on 3rd. If the look back rule doesn’t go in to effect until the runner/batter touches 1st, then the runner on 3B can hang off the bag until then, even if the ball is in the circle. Is this correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Dec 11, 2010
4,170
113
The question I have is regarding a runner on 3rd. If the look back rule doesn’t go in to effect until the runner/batter touches 1st, then the runner on 3B can hang off the bag until then, even if the ball is in the circle. Is this correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Correct.
 
Nov 26, 2010
4,613
113
Michigan
The question I have is regarding a runner on 3rd. If the look back rule doesn’t go in to effect until the runner/batter touches 1st, then the runner on 3B can hang off the bag until then, even if the ball is in the circle. Is this correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Correct. But she has to immediately make a choice one way or the other.
 

marriard

Not lost - just no idea where I am
Oct 2, 2011
4,137
113
Florida
The question I have is regarding a runner on 3rd. If the look back rule doesn’t go in to effect until the runner/batter touches 1st, then the runner on 3B can hang off the bag until then, even if the ball is in the circle. Is this correct?

Yes they can... right up to when the Batter-Runner touches 1B and then they need to make a decison.
 
Jan 31, 2011
449
28
This is interesting. So the runner on 3b( that is now down the line with her jump on that ball 4) does not have to get back to 3B (or make a decision) until the batter-runner touches 1B? Even if the pitcher has the ball in the circle? I guess I thought the runner on 3B had to make a decision when the pitcher had the ball in the circle regardless of the batter-runner??? Thanks for the help on this one.
 

Forum statistics

Threads
40,553
Messages
632,111
Members
19,773
Latest member
Softballmom823
Top