What can I expect from 10 yr olds?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 21, 2009
I am an assistant coach for my daughter'ss 9-10 yr old league team because I was asked to help by the head coach. I know very little about fastpitch hitting mechanics and joined this site so I can be a better coach and hopefully help the girls with their hitting.

Here's the problem, we had our first game tonight and only one girl hit the ball in five innings. The opposing pitcher was not particularly fast or good. As a matter of fact she walked lots of our girls but she had her fair share of strikeouts because our girls would either watch the ball go by, swing way too late or swing and miss by a mile.

Most of the girls can hit soft tossed balls. My daughter smashes them. Most of the girls can hit when the pitching machine on the mound. My daughter dials in and smashes these as well. But put a live pitcher on the mound and not one of them can hit the ball. My daughter is not even close and it is very frustrating.

It is like none of these girls have the hand-eye coordination needed to hit off a live pitcher.

I am not confident in ANY of our girls batting at this point and would like your suggestions on getting them to hit better. It's going to be a long season if we can't figure this out.

Thanks,
Pat

May 7, 2008
Tucson
Teach them to hit, just like you would teach baseball. Use the tee, a lot. Pitch to them from the front. Don't use the machine too often.

Also, demonstrate to them where the bat is supposed to hit the ball (sweet spot).

Maybe you could get a girl that is a little older to pitch to them.

They may be scared that they are going to get hit by the ball. You will need to teach them how to turn, if they are going to get hit.

May 18, 2009