Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Was I right, runner hit by ball question

Oct 11, 2018
117
28
Different rule sets may have slightly different standards ... but generally once a batted ball passes an infielder and no other infielder has a play on it, .....
I don't have books with me but pretty sure USA is "no other fielder has...." I don't think USA specifies infielder.
 
Mar 14, 2017
302
28
Michigan
You'll see lots of strange things happen on the ballfield with the younger kids.
You aren't kidding. I was once pitching in a coach pitch game and my runner got to second base. He started leaving the base so I said, "Colton, get back on the base." He said, "Coach, I need my glove." I told him he could get it later and he went back to second. I'll be damned if the next batter didn't hit a grounder to short and Colton ran over fielded it bare handed and tagged second for the force out. He promptly turned to me and said, "See coach, I told you I needed my glove!" Everyone was dying laughing. I said, "Colton, we're batting." He looked around and said, "Oh, yeah!" and burst out laughing.
 

Strike2

Allergic to BS
Nov 14, 2014
905
63
You aren't kidding. I was once pitching in a coach pitch game and my runner got to second base. He started leaving the base so I said, "Colton, get back on the base." He said, "Coach, I need my glove." I told him he could get it later and he went back to second. I'll be damned if the next batter didn't hit a grounder to short and Colton ran over fielded it bare handed and tagged second for the force out. He promptly turned to me and said, "See coach, I told you I needed my glove!" Everyone was dying laughing. I said, "Colton, we're batting." He looked around and said, "Oh, yeah!" and burst out laughing.
I remember in T-ball and even 7U coach pitch, I'd confirm with the batter which way she was running when she hit the ball.
 
May 29, 2015
1,929
113
I don't have books with me but pretty sure USA is "no other fielder has...." I don't think USA specifies infielder.
You are correct sir ... I went back and put a strike through on my incorrect statement. I checked the other books and they are the same (although I can’t seem to find it in NCAA). I have no idea where I got that from then. I’ll blame baseball. ;)
 
May 29, 2015
1,929
113
I am passionate ... I am not always right though.


Just ask my wife. However her version is just “He’s never right.”

I think not working any games since the fall has allowed all my bad thinking habits to return. That’s why I like you guys and this site! It gives me reason to keep opening the books.
 
Dec 11, 2010
2,758
113
Had an awesome crew yesterday, had that play at third where my runner was stretching a easy double to a triple. Ball came from cut and 3b applied a tag to my sliding runner off a good throw. Base ump was outside baseline and behind play, not out of position but just doesn’t have a good angle, it’s a play that understandably gets called wrong constantly.

I was out after the end of the inning b.s.ing with the plate ump about my lineup card (a technique I see a certain SEC coach do constantly) and I was giving the plate ump some very quiet and very good natured ribbing about the call. The field ump heard me (must be a lip reading savant) and came over and we had a great little conversation and he told me “Don’t ever be afraid to have me ask for help, he probably had a better angle on that”. I told him I really appreciated that but no need- we had a 4 run lead, we are an older 18u team and “no one got their feelings hurt on that one” and laughed.

I really enjoy umpires like that. I think that your credibility goes way up when you give the air that you will do your best to be right but know you won’t always be right... I like that

Hoping we get those guys again.

I might do another “umpire comment“ thread if I get time, had some really good ASA umps last weekend. One very well known in our area ump did cost us a tied pool game. He is a “whole ‘nuther story”, lol.
 
Last edited:
May 29, 2015
1,929
113
I love it when coaches ask about previous situations from other games. I’m just a geek when it comes to discussing rules. (I may not like following them though.)

But one thing I try to do every time is encourage them to open up the rule book and double check what I told them. 99% of the time they are asking about something that went against them. Just because you may like my answer better doesn’t necessarily make it the right answer.
 
Top