Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

USSSA Non Approved Ghost Sighting

May 6, 2015
1,113
63
If it is the C that is noticing (and kudos, my DD would probably never even think to look), call time, inform their manager/coach. let them handle it.
 
Feb 26, 2018
282
28
Wait until the girl gets a hit with it, or walks. Go talk to the PU and bring attention to it. According to an ump I was speaking with at a PGF tourney this past weekend (blue Ghost is allowed, but not the gold one), they can't do anything about it between innings, it has to be during or immediately after an AB.
 
Jul 14, 2010
150
18
Catcher saw it - reported after the at bat - ump said to point it out next time she saw it - next time she said “that’s the bat” - well, it caused a bit of a ruckus. Player was out, had to sit and an out every at bat for remainder of game - coach/manager out for two games. Her new coach said save that for Sunday, but it’s kind of a protect your pitcher thing so we all agreed it was the right call.

Interesting that the umps aren’t looking...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Jul 3, 2013
347
28
Catcher saw it - reported after the at bat - ump said to point it out next time she saw it - next time she said “that’s the bat” - well, it caused a bit of a ruckus. Player was out, had to sit and an out every at bat for remainder of game - coach/manager out for two games. Her new coach said save that for Sunday, but it’s kind of a protect your pitcher thing so we all agreed it was the right call.

Interesting that the umps aren’t looking...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Edit- This post contains incorrect information.

I believe that's the wrong ruling for USSSA play. Bat would just be removed from play, an out called if caught after at bat but before next pitch. All runners return to previous base.

USA play is an out and ejection for stepping into the box with it.

Sent from my SM-G892A using Tapatalk
 
Last edited:

2br02b

Trabant swing
Jul 25, 2017
223
28
Received this in an email from USSSA on May 24th, 2019:

COURTESY REMINDER: If a player steps into the batter’s box with a bat with no USSSA thumbprint, it is immediate ejection of the coach AND player. No warnings, no exceptions.


Teams coming off of high school seasons, please take note.
NOTE: the EASTON GHOST bat with BLUE GRAPHICS is not allowed in USSSA. This bat makes up 95% of current infractions of this rule. Coaches are responsible to check bats and make sure no bat is in the dugout without the USSSA thumbprint.
The Easton Ghost bat with GOLD GRAPHICS is allowed in USSSA as long as it has the USSSA thumbprint.
 
Jun 12, 2015
3,797
83
This weekend we played a PGF and I know one girl hit with an illegal Ghost and was ruled out. The other came out to hit, but the umpire noticed before she actually did. She just swapped her bat out. Anyone know what the PGF rules say about that? Neither game was ours and it wasn't any of our players. Just curious.
 
Jul 14, 2010
150
18
Received this in an email from USSSA on May 24th, 2019:

COURTESY REMINDER: If a player steps into the batter’s box with a bat with no USSSA thumbprint, it is immediate ejection of the coach AND player. No warnings, no exceptions.


Teams coming off of high school seasons, please take note.
NOTE: the EASTON GHOST bat with BLUE GRAPHICS is not allowed in USSSA. This bat makes up 95% of current infractions of this rule. Coaches are responsible to check bats and make sure no bat is in the dugout without the USSSA thumbprint.
The Easton Ghost bat with GOLD GRAPHICS is allowed in USSSA as long as it has the USSSA thumbprint.
Ghost sighting at USSSA take two... yesterday home plate umpire did not know USSSA courtesy runner rule early in game. Tournament director UIC watching later in game - DD identifies another Blue Ghost - umpire asked why it was illegal... field umpire brought in... he didn’t know and USSSA official watched the whole thing. Player allowed to switch bats, opposing coach eventually yelled at the girl for almost getting him thrown out. Our coach officially protested and umpire didn’t know that rule and forced game to continue. We lost, should have lost - but after a lot of chaos all I can say is that USSSA local did not handle properly. And there were no consequences to opposing team that we know of. SMH


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
34,518
Messages
503,135
Members
15,933
Latest member
Jlwolpert
Top