Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

USSSA Illegal pitch question?

Dec 19, 2008
164
0
Had this happen this weekend. USSSA 12U. Opposing team pitcher goes thru her wind up, then stops, and does not release the ball. Umpires call dead ball. We had runners on 1st and 2nd. Coaches argue (nicely) that it is an illegal pitch and runners should advance. Umpires did not give this to us. I looked for it in the rules, and cannot find it. Can someone cite the rule on this? We play ASA and USSSA, and the coaches are fairly new to USSSA. BTW, it did not affect the outcome of the game, we won 9-3.
 
May 13, 2008
832
16
The only area in USSSA that really differs is that the pitcher is allowed to step back with the non-pivot foot (this is also allowed in NFHS (highschool) rules). So an illegal pitch has the same penalty in USSSA as it does in ASA.
 

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
5,924
83
Dallas, Texas
This is Pitching 101:

USSSA Rule 7, Section 1, (G)(a)--The pitcher may use any windup desired provided no motion to pitch is made without immediately delivering the ball to the batter.

The effect is a acalled ball, plus runners advance one base.

You may have had a rec league umpire who was asked to call a tournament game. He/she lets some of the pitching rules slide because they don't enforce them in the rec league.

Ray
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
34,353
Messages
499,798
Members
15,818
Latest member
martindales
Top