Umpires that "coach" players

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Nov 17, 2010
As a coach, I've seen several instances where an umpire attempts to help a young player with what could be construed as coaching instructions directly to the player. Particular instances I've seen:

• Telling a batter who just bunted the ball foul to be sure to run in the first base running lane next time.
  • Telling a batter to move further away from the plate.
  • Telling a catcher to move further back to avoid interfering with the batter's swing

I imagine there are more that others have seen. As a coach, this is easy to handle if the umpires come to the coach between innings. Just nod, smile, thank the umpire, then choose to bring it up to the player (or not :)).

The question is what to expect players to do when umpire goes directly to them especially during an at bat. I'd love for them to do the same "nod and smile" routine and continue to do as they were taught, but that's a lot to ask of a young player, especially when we expect them to respect the umpires actual calls (safe, out, strike, ball, etc). A young player (10U) has trouble deciphering the two cases.

Any thoughts?

Jan 18, 2011
Well, I'm a coach that decided to help ump. The only time I've ever given advice to any player is with 10U and that was the catcher to move back slightly. I can't in good judgment let a 10U catcher get hit by a bat, knowing I could have prevented it. I then at the end of that particular inning or half inning let the coach of said player know what I told his/her catcher. 12 and up I normally let go and tell the coach, only if I think someone could get hurt.

Nov 17, 2010
Thanks for the input.

I'm talking 10U ASA travel.