Umpires: Lineup card training?

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Dec 11, 2010
To all of our umpires and experienced coaches:

I’m trying to improve my understanding of lineup cards, allowable substitutions and creative ways to get players in and out of games. I am a former assistant coach that has been thrust into a head coaching spot. I still have the entire coaching staff coaching, including the former head coach. They totally know what they are doing and will help any way I ask but I need to learn this stuff inside and out, and I need to do it now not next year.

I have read articles on DP/Flex etc. that are aimed at coaches. It is not clicking like it should. I realized that if I understood how umpires are trained and what they do with lineup cards after I turn them in to document players in and out of the game I would probably understand it a lot better from the coaching side. (Side note: Marriard, your post in another thread about managing large rosters was very helpful and I have read it several times.)

Can you direct me to umpire training or articles so I can see lineup card training? Seems like that will shine a light on allowable substitutions and help both me and the umpires I’m working with.

Experienced coaches, if you have creative things you do in certain situations, I’d love to hear them. Thanks, ww

Last edited:
Oct 14, 2016
This may be a long post.

Most tournament umpires don't understand the substitution rules so they will tell you, let me know when you change the pitcher or catcher because they need it for courtesy runners.

To start with, there are different versions of line-ups that you should be aware of. This all depends on who you are playing for. USSSA allows 2 EP and a DP/Flex, so you could legally bat 12 and have three free substitutes because the line-up would never change. With USSSA you really never have to use the DP/Flex because of their EP rule.