Umpire Gear

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 24, 2016
For all of those umps out there, what is your recommendation for gear for a brand new ump? For now I’m just starting out this spring with local leagues and maybe younger travel ball tournaments. Maybe in a year or two I’ll transition into some older (16u/18u) tournaments. I’m assuming I should be looking at starter “kits” to get the basic equipment (shins, chest, mask)? The Champro Professional series seems to be the best bang for the buck...I’m open to other suggestions too. I realize I need shoes, shirts, and pants as well.
Thanks for any help!
Bill

May 29, 2015
I have to run to an appointment, so I’ll chip in later ... but what is your budget?

Softball and baseball are often cited as the most expensive sports to get started in. The nice thing is you can use the same gear for both. Will you be doing both?

Jun 24, 2016
Just softball. I am realistic about the start up costs because I need everything. Shoes alone will be around $100. I’m trying to get my feet wet this spring so I’ll probably only be doing a few nights a week, so maybe I can get away a little cheaper on shirts and pants until next fall? I am on the coaching staff of my daughter’s travel team. She’s a junior so I’ll have much more free time when she graduates! Appreciate any suggestions.

marriard

Not lost - just no idea where I am
Oct 2, 2011
Florida
OK...

There is a brisk trade in used equipment at https://umpire-empire.com/forum/56-buy-sell-or-trade/

Don't cheap out on shin guards - this is the #1 place you get hit.
Buy Smitty pants - don't cheap out there.
For younger games can get away with just umpire shoes and not have plate shoes if you buy the extended guard shin guards. Which will save you $100.
Indicator - cheap and plastic. Get 2 or 3.
Timer - 3 for $10 cheap kitchen ones from the local store or Amazon
Umpire notebook - spend on this - see below.