Trying out for a new team

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Aug 27, 2020
My daughter is my first child to play on a competitive travel sports team so I'm new to this and looking for guidance She is currently on a 10U team moving up to 12U in 20-21. She has been offered her spot for the upcoming season on her current team before tryouts. Her team hasn't been doing well and the development hasn't been there. My daughter is looking to tryout for 1-2 other teams which are more competitve to see if she likes the coaches and they are a better fit for her. What is the ediquette on how to deal with the current team? Unfortunately all tryouts are the same 3 days, I'm trying to create options for her and let her see other coaches but don't necessarily want to lose her spot on the current team in case we don't find a match or she doesn't make the team of her choice. Tryouts for the new teams are Monday and Tuesday. Current team is Tuesday Wednesday. Do we go to the new teams Monday and Tuesday and tell the current coach we can only make Wednesday. Let her know ahead if she makes a new team? Or be completely upfront ahead of time. Again I'm trying not to burn bridges and explore other opportunities. Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance.

Jan 13, 2020
We went through this same thing a month ago. You have to do what you think is best for your daughter. Sure some people might be upset at first but they will understand if you are going to a better more competitive situation. Hell in the end they will be happy for you. Too many parents are just looking to get that window sticker to put in their rear window to say they are on the team. A lot of girls want to be competitive and win.