Trouble finding players

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 24, 2019
Hello,

Just needing some advise. I am the head coach of a 12u first year team. I am having trouble finding a full roster because we are not a national organization or don’t quite have the credentials yet. I have 5 girls who are committed, did have 6 but she quit today as “the fall season hasn’t met their expectations” when we have only played one tournament so far. No other reason was given.

Should I keep the fight for my girls and keep trying to locate players or should I dissolve the team so that my parents won’t have to spend any more money on a team that may or may not work?

I love this game and I’m a first year coach which I’m sure plays a part of it but I’m a former player, assistant coach, and softball parent. Do I need to mention my credentials when reaching out?

Sincerely,

I just need helpful advice please.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Sep 29, 2014
How are you playing tournaments? Pickup players?

You really are going to want about 10-11 committed players.

did you have tryouts? How many showed up....did you offer but girls turned you down?

need jsut a little more info

Jun 24, 2019
How are you playing tournaments? Pickup players?

You really are going to want about 10-11 committed players.

did you have tryouts? How many showed up....did you offer but girls turned you down?

need jsut a little more info

Yes
I’m familiar with how many players I need committed, the issue is getting them.
Yes
Several and yes I offered and they decline.

marriard

Not lost - just no idea where I am
Oct 2, 2011
Florida
One other thing to consider would be to find a team in a similar situation and contact them about a possible merger. I have seen this work with some success when there were multiple teams trying to find full rosters.