Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Sub/batting rule

Jan 24, 2009
618
0
Since our roster is nine, this hasn't been an issue yet but...

If a girl from the bench enters as a sub on defense, is there some sort of 'must bat once' requirement before she can be removed?

Example: Bottom of third inning a sub replaces center fielder. Top of fourth, when this fielder is to bat in the original players spot, can the orig player re-enter and bat and stay in the game for the duration? As such, the sub would have played defense and not ever batted. I've searched the USSSA rulebook cover to cover and don't see this addressed.

Thanks!
VW
 
May 13, 2008
832
0
You are only limited by the re-entry rules. There is no rule that says that a defensive substitute must hit, or that a pinch hitter must play defense.

If you have a defensive specialist (good glove - no bat), you may want to look into the DP/Flex rules. Much more powerful and flexible.
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
33,625
Messages
487,041
Members
15,302
Latest member
HVRAPTORS
Top