Stride Foot

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 2, 2017
Guys my DD struggles with getting the stride foot on the ground at least even toe touch before launching. Therefore she starts to slot her elbow etc. mid air. Now I know that we don't want to get the foot down early but on time. My question is: For a player that struggles to even get it on the ground to begin with before launching, would it be beneficial to tell her to get it down early? Then getting it down on time would follow as a means of her adjusting to different pitching speeds?

Oct 2, 2017
I would say that she reaches some, but I think she is gaining ground. It seems that because she is launching before toe touch it causes early leveling of the bat etc.

Nov 18, 2015
I'm still not an expert (and a long ways from being an ex-expert) - but I really don't see it as an issue.

She hit a line drive to or over the SS head. That would be the highlight hit of the day for my rec team.

There's plenty of MLB'ers that start to open / rotate their hips before their toe hits. With her stance, and the way she was hovering her foot during the stride, makes me think it's a non-issue.

It's not a timing issue, otherwise she'd of pulled it or went oppo. It may be a DBSF issue, but I think the solution could be found more in the upper body (such as a pull back / scap / bat tip) than trying to fix the stride foot. (Based only on this video - I know you've posted others, and the stride foot may be more of an issue in those - a great swing regardless!)

Sep 29, 2014