Stats question

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 4, 2018
I thought I would resurrect an old thread on scoring. As a HS coach, I hate to bring this up. However, I have been following certain HS schools and their stats. It seems that one or two schools are in the habit of changing their stats a few weeks after they play a team. We were to play a team and we had the stats from the first time we played them. Somehow, in the following two weeks, this team found 5 more hits from that first game.

We were playing a school and one of the parents was a former baseball player of mine. He came over to talk after the game. I told him about the miraculous ability for this certain team to grow hits after the game. He sent me a text that it happed from their last game. What a shame. This information will be making it around now. I'm not good at keeping secrets. I won't go "nuclear" and name the one school but I am sure that they will hear that their actions have been discovered.

Yeah, when I see fishy stuff like this I tell people. Lots of people. Get the word out. I'll even defend my actions to that team's coaches and parents and players. Wrong is wrong.

Jun 20, 2015
or the HS coach that instructs his official score keeper that any flyball in outfield, if any fielder has to take more than 5 steps, it's a hit if not caught. regardless.

Or changing of throwing errors into E3 errors. the list is long on the crooked path of deceit.

May 22, 2023
This depends a lot on the age level you're working with. My notes below involve 12U

Offensively, I used OPS and OBP to confirm ideas I have about lineups. I like to top load lineups, and I look for OPS numbers greater than 1 as generally productive players at the plate. If I'm sifting through who to fill in on lower parts of the lineup, I'll look at contact percentage to give me an idea if a hitter is putting the ball in play vs. just striking out.