Some good college swings Baylor versus Red Raiders

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Apr 27, 2009
In young players, I see a lot of "golf" swings, weak shoulders, leaning and twisting posture, bats hitting the back or shoulder in warm up swings, and lack of extension.

I just watch the boys at the facility and they get their shoulders through better. I think the girls use their legs and the arms may be a bit out of control or behind.

This is not a gender thing, as evidenced by the college players below. Baylor is one fantastic hitting team, not to mention the team they are playing.I thought these were "model" swings, although I am not a hitting expert.

Baylor Bears sweep Red Raiders in double-header - YouTube

Aug 29, 2011
Dallas, TX
I think there are links on this site that reflect Texas Tech's hitting style. They are a bit more linear and have the lean or "tilt" that forms the straight line, chest through front leg. Baylor is a bit more rotational in style. There were two hitters each, and both hitters for each team had exactly the same mechanics as their teammate at contact.

HOLLY H - YouTube
Front Side - YouTube