- May 29, 2015
You will get different views and arguments because there are different answers. Going to beat this broken record again ... know your code. What rule set are you using?I'll add another aspect and question...
Q: If its a dropped 3rd by catcher and ball kicks toward 1st base dugout...catcher picks it up in foul territory on 1st base side and fires to the first baseman....can the 1B be on or use the orange "safety base" in foul territory to receive the throw for the out?
(I know the answer now after thinking differently when first starting to coach softball....but want to hear from others. Because there have been a few umps and other coaches argue different aspects of this rule.)