Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Runner hit in face on double play attempt. Correct call?

Jun 1, 2013
840
18
I think that any coach who does not teach their players how to turn a double play properly shouldn't be teaching kids. The runner has every right to advance toward the base to which they must reach to avoid being retired. Not only do runners not disappear when the out is executed, in many cases they do not hear the umpire vocalize the out and when they do, that vocalization is not simultaneous with the application of the out.

You would know that if you weren't out in left field
Could you please enlighten us on what you think this Division I coach is telling her defense that is wrong on how to turn a double play? I personally like them behind second and moving through the base but I can not find fault in the way they tried to turn the dp. Besides a side arm throw it looks good and they got the out.
 

Greenmonsters

Wannabe Duck Boat Owner
Feb 21, 2009
6,175
0
New England
Does anyone here really think that the Vols runner going into 2B standing was anything other than an attempt to prevent the DP??? There is zero doubt that some coach, college or other, taught the player this bush league tactic. IMO she was fortunate that the pivot took some pity and she didn't end up taking the throw in the middle of her chest.
 
Jun 1, 2013
840
18
Does anyone here really think that the Vols runner going into 2B standing was anything other than an attempt to prevent the DP??? There is zero doubt that some coach, college or other, taught the player this bush league tactic. IMO she was fortunate that the pivot took some pity and she didn't end up taking the throw in the middle of her chest.
Yes!!!!!!!! Agree 100%
 
Jul 22, 2015
298
43
We were taught (in baseball) that if we make the turn by moving through the base the runner won't be an issue and we won't be in the position (on the base) to get taken out by a hard slide. That's how I try to teach our girls. Why make the turn directly in line with the runner anyway?
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,438
48
Could you please enlighten us on what you think this Division I coach is telling her defense that is wrong on how to turn a double play? I personally like them behind second and moving through the base but I can not find fault in the way they tried to turn the dp. Besides a side arm throw it looks good and they got the out.
When a catcher throws to a corner base, do they just throw the ball toward the base regardless of where the batter is located?
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,438
48
Does anyone here really think that the Vols runner going into 2B standing was anything other than an attempt to prevent the DP??? There is zero doubt that some coach, college or other, taught the player this bush league tactic. IMO she was fortunate that the pivot took some pity and she didn't end up taking the throw in the middle of her chest.
Yes. The runner did absolutely nothing wrong or illegal. Then again if you take a look at it, the SS came across the base as mmeece suggests and then throws back into the runner. Maybe you should consider the possibility the SS threw at the runner.
 

Greenmonsters

Wannabe Duck Boat Owner
Feb 21, 2009
6,175
0
New England
Yes. The runner did absolutely nothing wrong or illegal. Then again if you take a look at it, the SS came across the base as mmeece suggests and then throws back into the runner. Maybe you should consider the possibility the SS threw at the runner.
NCAA softball, NCAA baseball, pro SB or BB, of course the SS is throwing at or through the runner.
 
Jul 24, 2013
19
1
Just a quick question for you, MTR... When you have a player steal a base, do you teach them to go into the base standing up? If they answer is "no", why on Earth would you have them go into 2nd base standing up on a double play? I want my runners to get to 2nd as quickly as possible and sliding is the quickest way.
 
Top