Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

rules

May 8, 2008
35
0
I need help from our umps on here, if a line drive is caught & the glove falls off & the ball stays in the glove, is the batter out????
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,212
48
Ball has to be caught and controlled. Now, if the glove comes off and they catch thier own glove and ball before it hits the ground, that should be a catch, the ball was controlled before it hit the ground. But, if the glove makes it to the ground, then no catch.
 

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
5,841
63
Dallas, Texas
NCAA Rule 9.2.1: A catch shall not be credited when a fielder uses anything other than her hands or her properly worn mitt/glove.
NCAA Rule 9.2: A catch shall not be credited when a fielder uses any equipment that is displaced from its proper position..

When the glove falls off, there is no out.
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,212
48
ASA rule 8-5F, When a fielder intentionally contacts or catches a fair batted, a thrown, or a pitched ball with any part of the uniform or equipment that is detached from the proper place .

Key word here is intentionally. The fielder did not intentionally remove the glove to catch the ball. Trying to find the case study book to see if it has any information in it.
 
Not out...

Per USSSA:
Sec. 12 CATCH: A catch is a legally caught ball which occurs when a fielder secures a batted or thrown ball with his hand or glove. If the ball is merely held in the fielder's arms or is prevented from dropping to the ground by some part of the fielder's body or clothing the catch is not completed until the ball is in the grasp of the fielder's hand or glove. It is not a catch if a fielder immediately after he contacts the ball collides with another player or wall or falls to the ground and drops the ball as a result of the collision or falling to the ground. In establishing a valid catch the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove he has complete control of the ball and that his/her release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. If a player drops the ball while in the act of throwing it is a valid catch, provided the glove is on the fielder's hand.
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,324
38
ASA rule 8-5F, When a fielder intentionally contacts or catches a fair batted, a thrown, or a pitched ball with any part of the uniform or equipment that is detached from the proper place .

Key word here is intentionally. The fielder did not intentionally remove the glove to catch the ball. Trying to find the case study book to see if it has any information in it.
Wrong rule.
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
33,577
Messages
486,327
Members
15,277
Latest member
Koberender
Top