Rare 4th out rule in MLB

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
6,918
113
Dallas, Texas
I feel like this was discussed recently. The rare 4th out...


Interesting rule.

The fielder tagged the runner before stepping on 3B. Because the fielder tagged the runner for the 3rd out, there can be no force out of the runner going home.

If the fielder had stepped on the bag, and *THEN* tagged the runner, the runner going home would have been out.
 
Feb 13, 2021
846
93
MI
There was no force out anywhere at all. The play started with a dropping line drive to the right side of the infield, both R2 and R3 were running with the hit. The catch was out 2, the tag of R2, who had not tagged up was out 3. The touch of 3rd was ruled as inadvertent and not an actual appeal of R3 having left early. Once all Washington fielders had left the field, it was too late, by rule, for the appeal for an 'apparent 4th out'. This rule is the same in all codes of SB.
 
Apr 28, 2015
72
8
There was no force out anywhere at all. The play started with a dropping line drive to the right side of the infield, both R2 and R3 were running with the hit. The catch was out 2, the tag of R2, who had not tagged up was out 3. The touch of 3rd was ruled as inadvertent and not an actual appeal of R3 having left early. Once all Washington fielders had left the field, it was too late, by rule, for the appeal for an 'apparent 4th out'. This rule is the same in all codes of SB.

Was the touch of 3rd base ruled inadvertent or can there no longer be a “live ball” appeal after there are 3 outs? I’m asking for my knowledge


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
6,918
113
Dallas, Texas
The play started with a dropping line drive to the right side of the infield, both R2 and R3 were running with the hit. The catch was out 2, the tag of R2, who had not tagged up was out 3. The touch of 3rd was ruled as inadvertent and not an actual appeal of R3 having left early. Once all Washington fielders had left the field, it was too late, by rule, for the appeal for an 'apparent 4th out'. This rule is the same in all codes of SB.
If the fielder had touched the bag before tagging R2, then under 5.09(b)(5), R3 would have been out.
 
Jul 22, 2015
749
93
If the fielder had touched the bag before tagging R2, then under 5.09(b)(5), R3 would have been out.
Even if the fielder had tagged the runner from 2B first, as long as he made clear to the umpire that he was stepping on 3B to appeal that the runner who scored had left early then that would have been the "4th out" and the run would not be allowed. However he was actually pointing at the runner from 2B and never made clear that he was making an appeal on the runner who scored.
 
Dec 15, 2018
628
93
CT
If the fielder had touched the bag before tagging R2, then under 5.09(b)(5), R3 would have been out.
The order of operations actually doesn't matter here either way if the touching of the bag isn't a clear appeal attempt. If it was obvious and apparent that he was touching the bag for the purpose of appealing R3 leaving early, and not just inadvertently touching the bag, then the fourth out appeal would have been acknowledged.
 
Jul 22, 2015
749
93
Was the touch of 3rd base ruled inadvertent or can there no longer be a “live ball” appeal after there are 3 outs? I’m asking for my knowledge


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The umpire ruled that he did not make it clear that he was making an appeal on the runner who scored. If he had he just pointed to the runner who scored, or said that was the runner he appealed, the appeal would have been allowed.
 
May 16, 2016
747
63
Illinois
Definitely a weird play, and I certainly learned something from this play. That being said, I do not care for the rule. That run should not count in that situation. On the other hand "rules are rules".
 
Aug 12, 2014
600
28
The umpire ruled that he did not make it clear that he was making an appeal on the runner who scored. If he had he just pointed to the runner who scored, or said that was the runner he appealed, the appeal would have been allowed.

This part of appeals has always bothered me. If you complete the mechanics of the out, it should be an out. You shouldn't have to explain your intent to the umpire.
 
Top