Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Pitcher substitution question

May 15, 2008
673
43
Cape Cod Mass.
Around here when you hand the lineup card to the umpire he asks you if this is your official lineup.

The DP and the pitcher can switch positions, it would be no different than the left fielder and center fielder switching positions. The question is whether or not this can be done before a pitch is thrown and even more to the point can it be done with a pitcher before a pitch is thrown or a batter is faced.
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,386
63
The only time a pitcher is actually locked into facing a batter is if the pitcher or catcher reached base in the top of the first inning and used a courtesy runner. By rule, they are then required to face at least the first batter for 1 pitch in the bottom half of the first inning. NFHS does rule this as an illegal substitution if they do not, USA lists no penalty.
 
Oct 24, 2010
148
18
The only time a pitcher is actually locked into facing a batter is if the pitcher or catcher reached base in the top of the first inning and used a courtesy runner. By rule, they are then required to face at least the first batter for 1 pitch in the bottom half of the first inning. NFHS does rule this as an illegal substitution if they do not, USA lists no penalty.
[NFHS] An illegal substitute is (restricted to the dugout.) If the pitcher cannot face one batter, the courtesy runner retroactively becomes her substitute.
 
Last edited:
Top