Outfield strategy

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 11, 2019
Looking for thoughts/strategies. My DD is 12U. I'm an assistant coach, curious what everyone's take is on outfield. Do you play them deep/shallow? When do you have them shift in/out/left/right? I'm good on the backing up the throw aspect of outfield. We have our girls moving around every batter, but the higher caliber teams we play have their outfield deep and rarely move. For this thread, let's just assume our outfield talent is average ability to slightly above. No elite talent out there.

Sep 29, 2014
Well like any good coach IMO this is going to mean in game adjustments. You also need to train your girls to do the same, 12U is past time to be picking daisies out there.

As a general rule look at the batter; its still 12U so you could have a 4 1/2 ft 70lbs 10 year old up there...as a general rule I'm not playing 180 ft deep when she is batting 8th in the line up now on the other hand when the 5 1/2 ft 130 lbs 13 yr old girl steps up batting clean up then maybe yeah im playing back at 180 ft. You gotta be paying attention and keeping score clearly showing spray chart type info. Then after first time through you need to adjust. I would start with 3 basic depths (deep, neutral and up) and a 3 position shift (neutral and slightly or very left or right). But as the default no I'm not playing deep maybe 3,4 and 5 hitters but that is it without more information.