Live pitching practices VS bullpens/lessons

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 21, 2023
I am a coach of a 10U travel team and wanted to get some feedback. Our coaches opinions are split on how to develop our pitchers. We have 3 pitchers currently that all do lessons once a week with a college coach, and throw multiple times week. We have one pitcher who is very good and throws consistent strikes. The other two are coming along but still struggle with consistency. Two of our coaches think the answer is to do live practices as much as possible and the other two lean more to bullpens and occasional live (once a week). In my opinion, both serve their purpose but if a kid is throwing 30-40, or even 50% strikes in a bullpen/lesson without the elements of a game, throwing live isn't going to be the difference maker. Curious to hear the thoughts from this board.

Sep 19, 2018
Do you have a hitting tunnel where the pitchers can work to one batter while the rest of the team practices? You can't take up the whole field and have everyone standing around waiting for a strike. Even if you had a tunnel to separate out, I still don't think I'd do this more than once a week. That is not enough strikes to make it worthwhile for the hitter standing there instead of practicing.

Jun 8, 2016
In my opinion, both serve their purpose but if a kid is throwing 30-40, or even 50% strikes in a bullpen/lesson without the elements of a game, throwing live isn't going to be the difference maker. Curious to hear the thoughts from this board.
IMO your opinion is correct..

Dec 11, 2010
Players are not pitching machines.

Players pitching at practice ends up being players standing around, not practicing.

Pitchers don’t like to throw balls that will be hit.

Pitchers parents are crazy. Nothing you do will be right, no matter what.

At 10u you have too many things to teach them to mess around with scrimmages.