Live pitching practices VS bullpens/lessons

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 21, 2023
I am a coach of a 10U travel team and wanted to get some feedback. Our coaches opinions are split on how to develop our pitchers. We have 3 pitchers currently that all do lessons once a week with a college coach, and throw multiple times week. We have one pitcher who is very good and throws consistent strikes. The other two are coming along but still struggle with consistency. Two of our coaches think the answer is to do live practices as much as possible and the other two lean more to bullpens and occasional live (once a week). In my opinion, both serve their purpose but if a kid is throwing 30-40, or even 50% strikes in a bullpen/lesson without the elements of a game, throwing live isn't going to be the difference maker. Curious to hear the thoughts from this board.

Oct 4, 2018
From the experience of my DD, it's all about good instruction and reps. Any kind of reps. Just gotta get reps.

Some girls do pitch differently when there's a batter. No doubt about it. My DD wasn't that way, really, so reps into a net or without a batter were 99% as good as reps to live batters.

Apr 14, 2022