Jump Boxes

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jul 27, 2020
DDs PC suggested she start doing box jumps to strengthen her legs / core. Any suggestions on brand or height to get started? (assuming DD will progress and use different heights at some point).

DD is 12 and know you pay for quality but looking for something affordable as well.

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Apr 17, 2019
We have this one, been happy with it. the tallest side is a bit unstable, but I think that's expected.
Use it sometimes for pitching drills also.

Edit: keeps trying to change my link to media....
Code:
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B084NTG92Y/

Jan 25, 2022
I built one of the 3 height boxes a few years ago using plans I found online. Depending on which way you flip it, you get 20, 24, or 30 inch jump height. I'm a novice at building things with wood, for the most part, and I didn't have any trouble. I used true plywood so it's heavy as lead. You don't want a light box, though. Light boxes slide around and are easy to tip over. If you want something that will grow with her and take up less space, go with a 3 sided box. I think I was able to build the whole thing with one sheet of plywood and half a 2 x 4 (internal bracing). IF you wanna buy one, they're in the $125 range.

Just an FYI...don't do rebound jumps. They're pretty well proven to be very hard on the achilles tendon, and resulting in a lot of ruptures. Jump up and step down, or jump back down, but don't rebound back up.

Oct 26, 2019