Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Is this a legal steal?

Jul 11, 2011
50
0
Playing against a local college team last Saturday. They run this delayed steal. Ump allowed it. I always thought that if the pitcher was in the circle with the ball and the runner hasn't already made a move towards second that they couldn't then take off for second. If it's legal it's a pretty sweet trick play. [video]https://youtu.be/mtZ8Gx_FX_0[/video]
 

Feb 16, 2015
617
18
South East
Playing against a local college team last Saturday. They run this delayed steal. Ump allowed it. I always thought that if the pitcher was in the circle with the ball and the runner hasn't already made a move towards second that they couldn't then take off for second. If it's legal it's a pretty sweet trick play. [video]https://youtu.be/mtZ8Gx_FX_0[/video]
DD’s team would do this often in 10U & 12U..... Notice how she walks on top of the foul line back to the base...... I am not 100% on this but I believe she is in an uncommitted State, if she stays on the line..... which a look back or hesitation rule wouldn’t apply to.... I am sure someone else will chime in but in my experience it is 100% legal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Apr 17, 2012
793
16
Wi
In ncaa that is legal. In ASA/USA once you start coming back to 1b w the ball in the circle i believe you are committed to 1b

Sent from my LGLS775 using Tapatalk
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,277
38
DD’s team would do this often in 10U & 12U..... Notice how she walks on top of the foul line back to the base...... I am not 100% on this but I believe she is in an uncommitted State, if she stays on the line..... which a look back or hesitation rule wouldn’t apply to.... I am sure someone else will chime in but in my experience it is 100% legal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Don't know where you got that, but there is no such rule involving the foul line and it is only legal in NCAA ball
 
Feb 16, 2015
617
18
South East
Don't know where you got that, but there is no such rule involving the foul line
Well I believe the baseline thing may be the sneaky part about it and also adds protection or at least, how the coach taught it to our girls...... if the first basemen held on to the ball and tried to tag you just step outside the line...... I would think a red flag would go up if someone would be cheating there way towards 2nd during the walk back but that’s just me.

Edit: also remember something about if you turn right into foul territory and the ball is in the circle you must return to the base 🤨


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Nov 18, 2015
471
18
Well I believe the baseline thing may be the sneaky part about it and also adds protection or at least, how the coach taught it to our girls...... if the first basemen held on to the ball and tried to tag you just step outside the line......
I believe the coach may be incorrect on this one - I don’t think the foul line is even referenced in the rule - all that matters is whether the runner has made a move towards 2B (I think the rule uses the word ‘intent’?) - once that happens, the runner loses their immunity.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,151
38
DD’s team would do this often in 10U & 12U..... Notice how she walks on top of the foul line back to the base...... I am not 100% on this but I believe she is in an uncommitted State, if she stays on the line..... which a look back or hesitation rule wouldn’t apply to.... I am sure someone else will chime in but in my experience it is 100% legal.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Just to add on to the other comments, nothing in the rule says anything about the foul line or being on one side or the other. What was shown in the video is only legal in NCAA, any other rule set once the batter/runner moves back toward 1st base with the ball in the circle they are committed to 1st, she should be ruled out in any other softball rule set.
 
Feb 16, 2015
617
18
South East
This is the first time I have seen that play ran since those days, 5 years ago and the only other team besides DD'S team to actually attempt it, probably because it is an illegal play. The coach that taught this to the team was a former college player so I can understand where the mix up could happen. As parents we didn't know any better, I mean after all the coach was a 2 time All-American :D. The umpires always let it go also, probably attempted about a dozen times in 2 yrs, officiating usually wasn't very strong at our local USFA or FASA tournaments. Anyways thanks everyone for the letting me know that it is only legal in NCAA play.
 
Dec 11, 2010
1,909
38
Player on dd’s team did this all summer long. Exactly how the runner in the video did it. Got called once maybe twice. Not in little local tournaments either, and all were USA rule set. She supposedly did it all spring in hs.

I don’t think anyone completely understands this rule. Kill this rule. With fire.
 

Members online

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
33,050
Messages
476,873
Members
14,892
Latest member
Lizmcreations
Top