Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Interference or not

Jul 13, 2020
3
1
Batter pops a ball up runs to first and stops on first, the ball hits her while standing on the base. The first baseman cannot catch the ball because it hits her. Is this interference? Does she have the right to the base?
 
May 16, 2012
18
3
Iowa
Batter pops a ball up runs to first and stops on first, the ball hits her while standing on the base. The first baseman cannot catch the ball because it hits her. Is this interference? Does she have the right to the base?
It can only be interference if the runner intentionally interfered.
 
Aug 25, 2019
412
43
USSSA RULES section 18-a Runner is out when- N- EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching a base when hit by a batted fair ball, the runner is not out unless they intentionally interfere with the ball or an infielder making a play. The ball is dead or live depending on whether the closest fielder is in front of the base (live) or behind the base (dead)

I couldn't find anything about interfering a fielder while standing on base. But this says intentionally interfere, so if the runner is just standing on the base, That would not be interference. So basically if a runner is standing on any base, she does not have to move if a fielder is fielding a pop fly (or any ball)........Any other umpire out there see this differently?
 
Aug 25, 2019
412
43
So say for example a high pop ball towards 3rd base, runner on third stays on 3rd base, the 3rd baseman is looking up to track the ball to catch it and runs into the girl standing on 3rd, is that interference?
 
Oct 11, 2018
116
28
First thing; fire that base coach, why is the runner stopping on first base?

Interference does not have to be intentional to be called.
If its a pop-up right at 1st base like this example its best to stop on the base:
1. If she was off the base when the ball hit her she would be out.
2. If she's off the base and interferes, it no longer has to be intentional; she would be out.

If a runner or batter-runner is in contact with a base, she can only be called out for interference if it is intentional. If not in contact with the base, any interference will lead to being called out.
 
Last edited:
Oct 11, 2018
116
28
So say for example a high pop ball towards 3rd base, runner on third stays on 3rd base, the 3rd baseman is looking up to track the ball to catch it and runs into the girl standing on 3rd, is that interference?
Not interference because while runner was in contact with the base, she did not intentionally interfere. if she was not in contact with the base, any interference would have caused an immediate dead ball and runner would be out. But while in contact with the base, interference has to be intentional.
 
Jul 13, 2020
3
1
Just so that you all know the umps called her safe at first, then our coach argued interference and they overturned the ruling calling her out. A runner on third had scored on the play, and with it changed to an out it was the 3rd out so the run did not count.
 
May 24, 2013
11,025
113
So Cal
Just so that you all know the umps called her safe at first, then our coach argued interference and they overturned the ruling calling her out. A runner on third had scored on the play, and with it changed to an out it was the 3rd out so the run did not count.
Those umps need to spend more time reading the rule book.
 

Latest posts

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
36,349
Messages
547,004
Members
17,013
Latest member
joey.anglin
Top