Increasing velocity

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 8, 2016
So ridiculous….
If you post stuff publicly you need to take the good with the "bad" as long as the bad is constructive. Kids (or in this case a kid's mother) only want to hear the praise. That said I should have known this and just kept my mouth shut but as is evident on here I am not very good at that..

Jun 8, 2016
#skocougs Our HS is also the Cougars...really miss those hoops games. We had some great seasons!!
That is her 7th grade team. They don't let 7th graders play 8th grade.. :rolleyes: .If the 7th grade team played the 8th grade team they would win by 30..

I told my DW she should wear a "I am a Cougar" t-shirt to the games..luckily I was still allowed to sleep in my own bed after that...Her future HS team is the Tigers.

Oct 1, 2014
USA
My DD's are both just shy of 5'6" with the Pitcher DD being about 135 and the Catcher DD around 145. Both are what we used to describe as "Farm" strong, always had them helping with outside chores like splitting, hauling and stacking wood, shoveling manure and raking dirt/rocks, etc.. We have always had weights (dumbells, bars, bench), C2 Rower, Treadmill, bike, inversion table, etc.. Since they've been in college both been have spent a lot more time in the weight room (with a trainer usually). I can't say that weight training has had a measurable impact on pitch velo because we've always done so much other stuff?

*by "other stuff" for pitching I mean sprints (wall sprints and 20yd bursts), long toss, lunges, the old weight on a rope attached to a dowel exercise, pull ups, planks, TRX stuff, box jumps and other plyo moves, etc.. Recently I've become a bigger fan of deadhangs both for the grip strength aspect as well as the stretching benefit. It helps keep them long and lanky which translates to staying loose and whippy which hopefully translates to increased velo.

Oct 1, 2014
USA