- May 29, 2015
The rule is no different. The double base makes sense as it provides the runner a clear path to a designated point. Although I don’t agree with all this “a right handed batter has to veer in and out” nonsense, the double bag eliminates that.What's the rule in softball with the red bag? I've been told 2 different things.
1 the runner must stay in running lane through
2 the rule is the same as if there is no bag. It's there for safety only
I do have an issue with the double bag though ... codes need to make their rule VERY simple: the colored portion should ONLY exist for the runner on the initial play at first base. The defense should never be allowed to use it. All of the variations, exceptions, etc. have essentially negated any purpose it serves as it is no longer clear who should go where.