- May 29, 2015
Agree with your logic about the batter being neither safe nor out making that mechanic awkward, but your statement isn’t entirely spot on ...This was a follow the leader move. A signal is used to indicate the result of play. On a DTS, the batter-runner is neither safe nor out, but still in jeopardy pending action by the defense or lack of action by the offense
The safe signal in this case is the same as giving a safe signal on a dropped fly ball or as you watch a batted ball get close to a runner but not touch the runner ... it isn’t a ruling on the final outcome, but rather a signal that the ball is still in play. Some umpires would say it is your way of communicating “yes, I saw that”.
For what it is worth, I’m not a fan of the “safe” mechanic NCAA uses.