Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Incorrect Rule Interpretations - a running list

Jun 7, 2019
145
28
First I was harsh in how I phrased it - I have edited it.
First off, I didn't take it as harsh. I intentionally started by saying I didn't know if it was correct mechanics or not, because I assumed one of you would chime in with the correct mechanics, or if there were none, with your own opinions.

I've been trying to remember where I first heard that, but I'm coming up blank. But I DO remember why I was told this. At that time, I was told that there were coaches who were intentionally teaching their players to run to 1st, even when there was a runner on 1st with less than two outs, in order to try to draw a throw from the catcher down to 1B. This was an attempt to stop that. Of course, the source could have been our local rec league, which by default would add no credence to those instructions.

I'll try to remember under what circumstances I heard this, but don't hold your breath. In the mean time, if I ever post again about what is proper mechanics, it's because I want to hear the correct answer - not that I'm right.

Now, if only Marriard and MIB had given me the same answer. 🤔
 
May 29, 2015
1,753
113
I will argue that calling the batter out a second time absolutely can change the result of the play.
You are not calling her out a second time, you are verbalizing your call just as you would on most plays.

Now ... if the play continues to unfold after I have made the call, I am not stopping it because, as you said, the ball is live.

We did eject a HS coach last season for repeatedly instructing his batters to run to first on ball 3 intentionally last season. Real gem of a coach.
Now THAT we will agree on. 😁
 
Jun 11, 2013
2,096
63
I don't know if it's really a rule, but we had a coach yell at a runner to run a D3K. The PU threw him out of the game as an unsportsmanlike ruling and called one of the runners out. This coach had coached for at least 10 years at the major level (this was little league baseball). Needless to say it created some animosity at the league meetings.
 
May 29, 2015
1,753
113
I have to say that this is poor mechanics and form. The ball is LIVE and by doing this you are effecting the result of the play of a live ball. You have to let it play out.

It is not the umpires job to coach, commentate or narrate the game. It is on the players/coaches to know the rules & game situation.

When their is no D3K and the catcher drops it just do what you would do any time there is a 3rd strike and the batter is out:
- On a called strike, just hammer and arrow/big call it like you would any called third strike.
- On a swinging strike hammer the strike and do nothing else.

In an actual D3K scenario, there is debate on correct mechanics across codes especially on an unclear D3K
In general I do the following: Hammer the strike, and as you see the drop, now point down at the field of play or 1B (like a fair ball signal).

- So on a called strike, you are not doing the 'big' 3rd strike call, you just hammer the strike and then arm down and point down - it is clear the ball is down. Without the 'big' call, you are good.
- On a swinging strike, same - hammer the strike, then arm down and point down and only if it is unclear that the catcher dropped it, I will say 'no catch' so the catcher can hear me.
Re-reading your edits ... and I have to say, in my opinion, they make no sense with your stance on calling the batter out.

You are saying don’t reinforce your call that the batter out because you might stop stupidity from unfolding, but then you are saying to make sure the runner knows she should run and the catcher knows she should make a play by giving signals and an audible call.

I’m not disagreeing with your mechanics, just your point of view.

You are right that there is not uniformity across codes. NCAA wants the safe sign. Neither NHFS nor USA has any dropped third strike mechanic in their manuals. Both say no safe sign in their clinics.
 
Last edited:
May 29, 2015
1,753
113
I don't know if it's really a rule, but we had a coach yell at a runner to run a D3K. The PU threw him out of the game as an unsportsmanlike ruling and called one of the runners out. This coach had coached for at least 10 years at the major level (this was little league baseball). Needless to say it created some animosity at the league meetings.
Uhhh ... I guess it depends on what he yelled? He is certainly entitled to coach his players and there is no rule that says he can’t do that like an air traffic controller.
 
May 29, 2015
1,753
113
First off, I didn't take it as harsh. I intentionally started by saying I didn't know if it was correct mechanics or not, because I assumed one of you would chime in with the correct mechanics, or if there were none, with your own opinions.

There aren’t, so that’s what you got. 😁

I've been trying to remember where I first heard that, but I'm coming up blank. But I DO remember why I was told this. At that time, I was told that there were coaches who were intentionally teaching their players to run to 1st, even when there was a runner on 1st with less than two outs, in order to try to draw a throw from the catcher down to 1B. This was an attempt to stop that. Of course, the source could have been our local rec league, which by default would add no credence to those instructions.

Doing it deliberately is interference (IMO) and possibly grounds for ejection as unsporting conduct. Don’t discount the local league ... 😁

I'll try to remember under what circumstances I heard this, but don't hold your breath. In the mean time, if I ever post again about what is proper mechanics, it's because I want to hear the correct answer - not that I'm right.

Now, if only Marriard and MIB had given me the same answer. 🤔

Yeah ... just ignore Marriard’s advice and it will be OK. 🤭
Unfortunately there doesn’t seem to be a “right answer” unless your particular code has a prescribed mechanic.
Fun answers in red above ...
 
Jun 11, 2013
2,096
63
Uhhh ... I guess it depends on what he yelled? He is certainly entitled to coach his players and there is no rule that says he can’t do that like an air traffic controller.
I should have added that there were runners on and first was occupied. To be fair to the PU the coach was trying to get the catcher to make an throw
 
Jun 7, 2019
145
28
I thought about this last night. Haven't been back to the forum since my last post, so none of the discussion since my last post had any affect on my conclusion.

As I've mentioned several times in various posts, a lot of discussions here depend on what level we're talking about. Frankly, I don't see this confusion in any decent level of play. It happens most often in younger age teams, or middle age teams with less skill and experience (B, C, Rec). And much of the time, it's aided by either kids or parents seeing the ball hit the dirt and yelling out, "Run!" If she does, not only don't I see any problems with calling "Batter's out", I've seen from experience that it quickly corrects the issue.

I just don't see any reason not to end unnecessary activity quickly and get on with the game.

I appreciate the comments offered. But in this case, when I get back to rec league play next Spring, I'll keep doing it.
 

Latest posts

Forum statistics

Threads
35,912
Messages
538,152
Members
16,760
Latest member
Hojo505
Top