How pitches is too many at 10U

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

B

BROBO

How many pitches is too many at 10U?

How many per day?
How many per Tournament?
Does it depend on the kid?
Will her arm fall off?

Last edited:
Feb 3, 2011
Are you asking as a pitcher's parent? Or are you asking as a coach?

In rec, girls who are just moderate-speed underhand throwers and not actually 'pitchers' can go all day, but I tend to be more conservative with my pitchers. It depends on the athletes, though, and there are no hard and fast guidelines on what's going to work best for your players. If my pitchers join the tournament team this summer, the pitching workload would be spread over more arms, so at this point, there are no real concerns about needing to build up their stamina, nor are we in danger of overworking them.

B

BROBO

I'm asking as a coach. This is my first year as a TB manager and was looking for some advice. This past weekend I started to record the pitch count . My #1 (very good) ended up throwing 201 in 3 games (2 days) and my #2 (average) 181 in 2 games.

Feb 3, 2011
I was thinking 70-80/game, but that's just a range I made up in my head based on what I think might happen during a game. On a day where we might play more than 3 games, however, I'd want to have at least a 3rd pitcher who could get us a few outs regardless of how the starters were feeling.

B

BROBO

What about per day? I've got four kids that go to the same pitching coach. #1 is Lights Out 50-51mph great control, the #2 spot goes back and forth. #2A 40mph hits spots but gets tired easily. #2B is a 9yo 42mph also tires easily. #4 46mph no control (right now).
Its very tempting when #2 or #3 struggle to go back to #1 and I was wondering if any of you experts out there have ever done studies that would help understand the long term effect - if any.

Last edited:

sluggers

Super Moderator
Staff member
May 26, 2008
Dallas, Texas