Hitting the stick..

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Jun 22, 2010
SE. Georgia
what do yall think about the hitting stick? I use it alot for my girls to get in cuts quickly, pretty much anywhere, i know it does not replace the tee.. another place it is handy last season when coaching 8U rec. was during games when some of the girls were pulling head off the ball or closing their eyes. you could step out the dugout and let them take a few cuts. is there any downside to using it?

obbay

Banned
Aug 21, 2008
Boston, MA
I agree that it's an excellent tool. I have been using it for about 4 years now and I find it to be an excellent way to help players keep their eye on the ball, work through swing problems and just get a lot of swings in relatively quickly. It has helped girls correct problems from feet to followthrough. I've been able to get girls who swing like they're playing badminton and teach them to swing like they're going to kill something! Most effective for U12 players but effective at all levels. Especially if you don't have video and you need to work on form.

Most recently my 10yo got new bat that was a little bigger than what she had been using. At first she swung kind of wildly with all sorts of problems (most notably disconnection) but within a couple days (using this for no more than a dozen or two swings, once a day) she was swinging that new bat better than she swung any bat all season.

Another thing from the same session, she wanted to work on inside pitches so she could try what Jessica Mendoza instructed on one of those Home Depot Clinic commercials during the WCWS. worked great. Wanted to try low pitches so she could work on tilt -again worked great and she looked good.