HC says he's too easy on his U14 players....Intentionally.!

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

NBECoach

Learning everyday
Aug 9, 2018
I agreed to help a TB team of U14's because the new HC asked me to whenever I had time. I had done this for other TB teams in previous years as a means of keeping the kids in softball.

The kids are out of control. Talking, goofing around, not paying attention, but since I'm only an instructor I can't really say much. Last week Monday I decided I'd better tell the HC to get them under control or I'm gone.

The email is as follows:
I'm sorry if I seemed a little edgy Monday night but the behavior of most of the players was the cause. Here I am volunteering my time trying to help these kids get better, but they ignore my instructions and make little to no effort to listen. I am also very disappointed in the disrespectful way they treat you. Heck you could be golfing every summer weekend but instead your going to be spending your time coaching. I guess the players don't see it that way

I think I've been to 7 or 8 total practices all with the same mood. And well, they don't WANT to get any better. You can tell by their attitude. I'm going to give this one more week and if I get the same behavior I'm sorry to say that I am done. I don't expect them to suddenly perform like Mickey Mantle, but I expect them to TRY with energy and effort. It's been that way since the beginning and that frustrates me to no end.

His reply:
Don’t apologize for being edgy, I felt the same way and I share your frustration but I WILL GET THIS CORRECTED.

Part of the problem is mine, I have intentionally been easy on the girls mainly because the last coach was constantly hard on them to the point that several quit the sport. I guess he was too hard and I have been too soft. Its time for me to be more demanding of them and push them more.