Glove help for a newbie

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 24, 2022
Hello, I started playing a couple of here ago in a mixed men/women fastpitch team, anyway I also play slowpitch sometimes. I starred playing with a Rawlings R9 12,75 baseball glove (302 pattern) and I use it as an utility glove (I play third base or outfield). Now I wished to gift me with a better glove...and my question is: are the deepest baseball pattern good for softball too or should I choose a glove specific for softball? I can't understand. I was thinking about a pro208 if I choose to buy a 12,50 or a 303 if I choose to remain with a 12,75...but I don't know if a softball glove should be better.
Thank you everyone

Jul 29, 2013
North Carolina
The Pro302 plays long and narrow, with a smaller hand stall. Tell me the exact length glove you’re looking for and I’ll tell you several models that play deeper and wider than your current glove.

Sep 19, 2018
I am pretty sure sis bates plays SS with a Wilson a2000 1975 baseball glove. Plenty of great options playing with a baseball glove

Oct 24, 2022
The Pro302 plays long and narrow, with a smaller hand stall. Tell me the exact length glove you’re looking for and I’ll tell you several models that play deeper and wider than your current glove.
Thank you! I think that I'll be better to keep using a 12,75" so my purchase will be that length...do you have anche model to recommend?

Jul 29, 2013
North Carolina
Thank you! I think that I'll be better to keep using a 12,75" so my purchase will be that length...do you have anche model to recommend?
If you're staying with a 12.75" the most logical pick is your Pro302's big brother, the Pro303.

If you can shorten up a 1/4" this new 12.5" Pro208 exclusive at Don Morton's is hard to beat, just a killer Slow Pitch infield pattern that can easily be used in the outfield!