Getting 2 strikes but finishing with a Walk

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

obbay

Banned
Aug 21, 2008
Boston, MA
We have a 13 - 14 yo pitcher with fantastic speed, but she has trouble closing the deal. Yesterday she won our game, giving up no hits but allowing 4 unearned runs through BBs. a few batters were able to touch the ball with the bat but at best those wound up as opposite field fouls.

She has no problem getting 2 strikes on every batter, usually in the first 3 pitches (first pitch is always a called strike) but then the next pitch is way high and the rest of the pitches seem to wander around outside the strikezone. Some are borderline WPs.

Not being a pitching coach myself, I'm asking for your ideas/opinions on how she can address this problem. I'm thinking it's a focus issue. When I talked to her she never appeared uncomfortable, so I didn't think it was nerves. She has a pitching coach and I'm thinking she can maybe help her but it would be good if the other coach and I knew how best to approach this.

Thank you.

halskinner

Banned
May 7, 2008
We have a 13 - 14 yo pitcher with fantastic speed, but she has trouble closing the deal. Yesterday she won our game, giving up no hits but allowing 4 unearned runs through BBs. a few batters were able to touch the ball with the bat but at best those wound up as opposite field fouls.

She has no problem getting 2 strikes on every batter, usually in the first 3 pitches (first pitch is always a called strike) but then the next pitch is way high and the rest of the pitches seem to wander around outside the strikezone. Some are borderline WPs.