Dropping hands help.

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Sep 19, 2018
I am a 10U Rec coach. I have 2 girls with the same problem (It is 10U Rec, so there are lots of problems). But these two girls both has a little something. They are both dropping their hands to their waist and then swing perfectly level through the ball. They are getting to the ball with front toss, but I know once there is a little velocity, it won't work out well. I don't have video, but do you guys have words, triggers, reminders, anything that has helped girls dropping their hands?

There are lots of videos on YouTube for this. Are there specific ones that DFP likes? Thanks for the help.

cmn

Jun 8, 2016
I am a 10U Rec coach. I have 2 girls with the same problem (It is 10U Rec, so there are lots of problems). But these two girls both has a little something. They are both dropping their hands to their waist and then swing perfectly level through the ball. They are getting to the ball with front toss, but I know once there is a little velocity, it won't work out well. I don't have video, but do you guys have words, triggers, reminders, anything that has helped girls dropping their hands?

There are lots of videos on YouTube for this. Are there specific ones that DFP likes? Thanks for the help.

cmn

In terms of dropping the hands, I have found high tee work will help. Unfortunately this likely won't do anything for the swinging
level part. For that you will have to work on getting them into a good coiled (hip and upper back) position at swing launch and then
a swing launch which uses the hands/forearms vs. the arms.

May 24, 2013
So Cal