Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in

Drop thrid question

Feb 8, 2019
8
1
Usa softball, now I'm getting two different conflicts here.

Did drop thrid strike 10u usa softball. Our IOC head told me this if catcher gas control ball and runner makes no effort to go first she out. Or us when she heads or into dugout? I'm not sure why.
 
May 29, 2015
869
93
The actual wording is when she “enters the team area” which is commonly accepted as the dugout. I’ve had umpires theorize that the on deck circle could be considered as “team area”. Never seen anybody apply that standard though.

Rule 8
Section 2D(3)

I mentioned in another thread on this topic ... there has been talk of changing that standard to something akin to “when the runner abandons her/his effort or makes no effort to advance to first base”. At that point, once she leaves the box and heads to the dugout she would be out. I’m not sure which specific organizations have discussed it or if that would ever happen.
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,334
63
No the on deck circle is not in any way shape or form the dugout or team area.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
 
May 29, 2015
869
93
I agree with you Comp. I think it was just a matter of pointing out the unusual verbiage. Why not just say “when she enters the dugout”?
 

MTR

Jun 22, 2008
3,419
48
I agree with you Comp. I think it was just a matter of pointing out the unusual verbiage. Why not just say “when she enters the dugout”?
Because not all fields have enclosed dugout or a dugout large enough to handle all of the team personnel which usually means there may be an adjacent area designated for team members
 
Oct 11, 2018
38
8
Everyone has been right about the batter-runner not out until they step off the field of play. There is one exception. If the catcher is actually moving towards the batter-runner and the BR continues to go in a direction 3 feet away from the path to 1st base, they can be called out for being out of the base path. But the catcher just standing there making no attempt on the BR and the BR walking away is a no call until the BR leaves the playing field.
 
Jun 22, 2008
3,334
63
No the batter walking toward the dugout and the catcher choosing to chase after them is not a runner attempting to avoid a tag by going 3' out of their basepath.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
 
Oct 11, 2018
38
8
No the batter walking toward the dugout and the catcher choosing to chase after them is not a runner attempting to avoid a tag by going 3' out of their basepath.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
why not! they are avoiding an attempted tag. Catcher does not have to keep chasing the BR all the way off the field while other runners may try to advance. If BR is not heading to 1st base and catcher going after her, how is that any different than a runner going fomr 1st to 2nd and avoiding a tag by going more than 3 feet out of the path to avoid the tag?
 

Latest posts

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
34,503
Messages
502,674
Members
15,922
Latest member
victorstarfin
Top