Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Register Log in


Oct 8, 2008
Long Island, NY
Let beat this dead horse again. I think i have it right but i want to make sure. Here is a lineup:
1 Chris CF
2 Alyssa DP
3 Nicole LF
4 Jamie C
5 Ashley SS
6 Victoria 1B
7 Lindsay 3B
8 Mary 2B
9 Suzanne RF
10 Gina FX

Would a defensive position swap of 2 Alyssa DP with 4 Jaime C be allowed providing they both still are batting and they do not swap position in the batting order, this is just for defense. Thanks
May 7, 2008
Yes - the DP can play any defensive position, and that does not alter the batting order. In your example, Jamie gets to rest on defense while Alyssa catches; both still hit in their same spots. Next inning, you could put Alyssa at SS and give Ashley a rest. You can do this with the DP any number of times without running afoul of the re-entry rules or altering the batting order - that's the beauty of it.

The exception on the re-entry situation is if you sub the DP for the Flex player on defense; then you can only re-enter the flex player one time.