Do you ever stop working on basic mechanics??

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 22, 2013
Sluggers nailed it, mechanics come first. Pitchers have a hard time breaking old habits, so important to start them on the right path early in the process. To answer the op, pitchers never stop working on their craft, it takes desire and dedication to become successful.

Jun 6, 2016
Chicago
As a coach I fear a pitcher who has 2 great pitches. My preference would mainly be fastball and changeup. If she can consistently locate those 2 pitches and mechanics look the same, she will be successful and can build from that base. Make those 2 pitches great and then increase. But not until. Enjoy the journey. If she isn't buying into only having 2 pitches, there are plenty of videos out there of batters looking silly when expecting a fastball and they see a perfectly placed changeup.

I'm not an expert on pitching mechanics by any means, but I 100% agree with this. The only thing I'd add is "fastball" ideally does not mean "straight ball." Get a little movement on that fastball (any direction if you can control it) and you're gonna do just fine.

Apr 28, 2019
DD had a late start with pitching. Started at 13. She is going to be 15 this fall. So she has two years under her belt. We are realists, and have no ambitions on going D1, etc. Don’t get me wrong, she has potential to be a good pitcher later in high school, and is doing a decent job right now. Still lacks really good accuracy, however. Her mechanics are pretty good. But, I just want to know how long does one continue to work on basic mechanics? The thing that is biting us in the rear, is her back leg being an anchor. She just isn’t getting it through. And she flattens that push foot where her heel touches the ground when she throws curves, screws, or change ups. I don’t know what to do to fix it.