Crazy injury - to the bucket dad!

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Oct 4, 2016
So I'm wondering if this has ever happened to anyone else, because it seems so strange that it could happen at all.

There I was, innocently catching for my 13 yo at her lesson, which I've done for about 4 years now. I now have 3 daughters that pitch but on this particular day, the oldest went first. Everything was going nicely getting her warmed up, I felt great, she looked great. Next thing I know, ball down on the plate, no problem, I'm a professional! Scoop up and out to the ball, easy play I've made many many times. At that immediate moment I hear a pop in my arm (my glove arm!), sharp pain in my elbow that took my breath away that lasted about 30 seconds. Being the tough guy I am (not really), I got back on the bucket and tried to continue but every time I had to move my hand to the ball that sharp pain would return and I had to turn over the catching responsibility to the PC.

Pain when I moved my arm continued especially if I pulled or turned hand over. Head to walk in ortho just down from our house next morning and it turns out I tore my biceps tendon that attaches to my radius bone! MRI next week with most likely surgery soon after. Bruising and swelling came late (last night and this morning). Ibuprofen helps but still if I tweak it the sharp pain returns.

So - has anyone else had a stupid injury like this before? I'm so annoyed that it came from this and not some daring, stupid dad thing that I did so I could feel like I actually earned this!

Have a great weekend!

Oct 2, 2018
Georgia