clinic for 8U beginners-need advice

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 26, 2012
I have been asked to do a 3 part clinic for 8U league teams. It is coach pitch but they want pitchers better prepared going into 10U. It is really to get kids interested and the ones that want to pursue it would be encouraged to go to a pitching coach.

I have only 4 years experience with pitching. I have taken my daughter to 2 different pitching coaches and attended several clinics. I have also read this site a lot and watched many videos. She has been very successful and now pitches on the school jv team as a 7th grader.

I am very comfortable working with my own but I need suggestions for getting these young ones and their parents started. Drills and/or ideas would be greatly appreciated.

BTW-I love this site and will probably be burning it up over the next few months as I will be coaching travel ball when school ball is over.

halskinner

Banned
May 7, 2008
Coach Hal’s Foundation Method.

This is how I always started off a young beginner, tuned up more experienced pitchers and converted step style pitchers to leap and drag.

I once agreed to put on a one hour clinic at our academy for a 10u team. I expected maybe 4 or 5 kids, just the pitchers. What I got was 14 kids, the entire team! I only had an hour to work with them all a little bit. It turned into 14 short one-on-one sessions. I used my Foundation Method for each one and spent 4 to 5 minutes with each.

The clinic took an hour and 20 minutes. When it was over, I felt like the kids had been short changed on what I had hoped I would accomplish. The coaches assured me they were very happy with the results. I gave each of the kids their own copy of my Foundation Method that they took home to repeat exactly what we had done that day.