Okay, please help me make sure I understand the difference in these rules and NFHS rules.I should have searched first ...the USA Softball rules changes document was issued 12/5/19. https://www.teamusa.org/-/media/USA_Softball/Documents/2020/Governance-Documents/2020-Rule-Changes-with-Comments.pdf?la=en&hash=B23ACF9AD0A1DFA9DDCB7501D3D1FE0F38A67DD3
Here are the pitching changes:
View attachment 15779
Am I correct in saying with the rules posted here "USA RULES" in Rule 6A section 1E. the pitcher can take a step back before, during (simultaneous with) or after the hands are brought together?
NFHS Rules in ART 2 Point B states that any step backward shall begin BEFORE the hands are brought together.
Difference being in NFHS.....Once hands are brought together you cannot take a step back and if you do it is illegal? But other orgs you can bring them together and still take a step back after?
**LINK TO PREVIOUS NFHS DISCUSSION https://www.discussfastpitch.com/threads/ncaa-pitching-rule-changes.37664/
Just want to confirm I am reading this correctly and understand it? Not sure why they wouldn't be the same and perhaps they are and I just haven't had enough coffee yet?