Base Coaching Tips

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

Feb 13, 2018
As an experienced player I tend to be more aggressive when it comes to running bases and my kids aren't quite there yet....So, I'm thinking go, but by the time I say go, they process go, they've slowed down, now they go but now they need to stop but I've already said go.....they get thrown out by miles. So now I've tried to tone down my aggressiveness but I don't want to not be aggressive either and I would like them to learn how to be aggressive as well. I'd love to hear tips from people on being a base coach!

Dec 5, 2012
Mid West
As a coach I've learned to not say GO....
Use 2 words only..... YES or BACK
Train them in practice to always assume they're taking the next bag or two (if it's not an obvious infield single)... My rule of thumb is the player runs, and the base coaches stop them (or give sliding instructions) If she gets thrown out by a mile because a coach didn't stop her, that's on the coach!!

Sep 19, 2018
What Age, Level and experience? My first couple of innings of 10U Rec where quite a learning experience for me.

Jul 29, 2013
North Carolina
Coach James is right, this has to be simulated in practice! You have to do game scenarios in their head and then do it on the bases, and do it again! When you're facing great pitching and having trouble getting girls on base, when you do you can't blow it by having base running mistakes! Everyone loves speed, I do, but I'll take smart base running over speed every time!

As far as stealing bases, 2/3's of our HS girls run like they're dragging a refrigerator behind them, terrible! They had better read the pitch thrown........when it's a 1/3 of the distance away from the catcher and it looks like it's going to be in the dirt, they better already be moving!