Adjusting Stance in Batters Box

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 9, 2008
I am new to Fastpitch and I have asked this to a few people. I have noticed that almost all batters at our local high schools don't move up or back in the box. We have an amazing pitcher who throws in the high 60's in our area from what I was taught growing up playing baseball is to move back in the box with a fast pitcher. I see time and time again girls way up in the box and not getting around on her. Countless foul balls when they do make contact. Am I totally off base thinking they should move back in the box?

Ken Krause

Administrator
Admin
May 7, 2008
Mundelein, IL
Not at all, although there are certainly old school coaches who will say you are. But I've attended clinics with lots of D1 coaches, including Mike Candrea and Sue Enquist, and they'll both say that moving back in the box can be a good idea. Not just against speed, but also against certain types of movement.

The conventional wisdom says that on a drop or riseball pitcher you should move up in the box to catch the ball before it breaks. But I believe it was Kirk Walker of Oregon State who said if you move to the back of the box, the ball may break before it gets to you. That makes it tougher for the umpire to call it a strike, because the ball was at your feet before it got to you. Technically the call should be made by where the ball is relative to your body when it's over the plate, e.g. if it was knee-high over the plate but hits the dirt behind it (but in front of you) it should be a strike. But that's a tough call to make.

If your hitter has trouble laying off of riseballs, standing further back may also let the ball get a little higher before it gets to her, making it easier to hold off swinging.