1st Ejection

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 31, 2018
Allen TX
I’m a pretty calm Coach, and I rarely challenge or question an umps call. So getting ejected came as a little surprise. Here is the situation:

12u (USSSA tourney).

1st inning. Leadoff hitter (lefty slapper). Lays down hard slap and gets called out for being out of the box. This was late Saturday and no lines were left on the field. Parents probably groaned, but I never said a word.
2nd inning. Same batter comes up with bases loaded and 2 out. I tell her to hit away (also a strong hitter) and move back in box. She hits hard line drive to the fence (easy ITP HR), but he calls her out again (inning over). I calmly walk down and ask him where is the line he is using and he keeps pointing to her foot mark (about 18” in front of plate). I tell him that the kids can’t see a line that doesn’t exist and USSSA rules say benefit of doubt should go to batter (when lines aren’t present). I then ask if we could draw a line so both teams know where it should be. He agrees and is about to draw a line when one of my parents said “now he is going to draw a line”. He gets mad and says he will not draw a line. I ask if I can draw it and he agrees. I try to eyeball about 36” from front of plate, and as I start drawing, he ejects me. I asked why and he said for being a smart rear and drawing the line too far out.

I was surprisingly calm the entire time, but he even kicked me out facility Instead of just out of of sight/sound.

Was an ejection warranted? Can a coach argue an ejection? Field ump apologized to me on way out.

I have it all on Video as well.

If I deserved to be tossed, I’m fine with it, but I’m still not sure what I did that was illegal or wrong.

May 24, 2013
So Cal