10U Coaches: You Have One Job – Player Development

Welcome to Discuss Fastpitch

Your FREE Account is waiting to the Best Softball Community on the Web.

May 26, 2021
Is there a balance between winning and development though? I’m a 10u coach and I was all into development 100% and I told the team I don’t care about our record. Then we lost 7 games in a row. The other teams aren’t doing the development thing. They’re playing to win every game.

The girls have been pretty down on themselves that we didn’t have more wins. So I figured we’d play a couple games hard to get that win. Took 3 games playing like that, but we did eventually get it and the girls definitely seemed happy about it. Would you argue I still should’ve ignored that and let them keep losing?

I had to put the best girls in the infield. I had to put the best players at the top of the lineup, and I had to pitch only my best pitchers.

Is it worth it to keep a balance? Sounds like from this article there shouldn’t be since it’s development full stop. Opinions?

Oct 14, 2019
Is there a balance between winning and development though? I’m a 10u coach and I was all into development 100% and I told the team I don’t care about our record. Then we lost 7 games in a row. The other teams aren’t doing the development thing. They’re playing to win every game.

The girls have been pretty down on themselves that we didn’t have more wins. So I figured we’d play a couple games hard to get that win. Took 3 games playing like that, but we did eventually get it and the girls definitely seemed happy about it. Would you argue I still should’ve ignored that and let them keep losing?

I had to put the best girls in the infield. I had to put the best players at the top of the lineup, and I had to pitch only my best pitchers.

Is it worth it to keep a balance? Sounds like from this article there shouldn’t be since it’s development full stop. Opinions?