Talk to Other Fastpitch Softball Fanatics ... for FREE!

Register today and get the uncensored, and yes, the sometimes uncomfortable truth from real softball fanatics who live and die on the softball fields.
Signup to Discuss FastPitch Forum
Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: INT Question

  1. #1
    Certified softball maniac CoachKevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Thanked 334 Times in 224 Posts

    Default INT Question

    High School Rules - Runner on 2nd, ball hit to SS where runner from 2nd collides with SS. Field ump holds fist out for the interference. Runner contines to round 3rd and heads home, SS throws home. BR rounds 1st and continues to 2nd where she is thrown out.

    PU declares runner on 2nd out on INT, then sends runner from 2nd back to 1st.

    I thought INT was a delayed dead ball and runners could be put out if they attempted to advance?

  2. #2
    Certified softball maniac Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Thanked 1,429 Times in 845 Posts


    First off, you have the umpires with conflicting calls. The arm out with fist is the field umpire ruling obstruction which is a delayed dead ball. Interference is an immediate dead ball, the player guilty of the interference is out, batter/runner is awarded first, which is what the plate umpire apparently ruled. Did something strange happen with the batted ball hit to the SS? Did she misshandle it in any way? If so, was it more than a step and reach away from her?

  3. #3
    Softball Junkie cshilt's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Thanked 47 Times in 42 Posts


    Sounds like the correct call to me, all runners should be returned to the last base legally touched. The batter-runner would be awarded first, however the umpire may call the batter-runner out if they feel that the interference was an obvious attempt to avoid a double play.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
Segment -- Burn -- Conversion --