Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Batter interferance

  1. #1
    I can talk softball all day Fort83's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    104
    Thanks
    60
    Thanked 36 Times in 23 Posts

    Default Batter interferance

    After a swing and a miss for strike three the batter walked across the plate blocking the catcher from making a throw on a runner that was advancing. The catcher tried but bumped into said batter and did not throw the ball. IMO the runner should have been made to return to the base she was at pre pitch and since the batter was already out there was no other penalty to be enforced.

    Am I right or wrong? It was USA rules just FYI


  2. #2
    Softball Junkie inde53546's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Wi
    Posts
    793
    Thanks
    106
    Thanked 221 Times in 162 Posts

    Default

    Since the batter was out on strike 3 and interference occurred after the out i believe the runner closest to home would be called out as well? All other runners return. Just a guess 8-7-p addresses a similar situation

    Sent from my LGLS775 using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    I can talk softball all day fuzzy2651's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    129
    Thanks
    19
    Thanked 37 Times in 29 Posts

    Default

    I would think the catcher needs to avoid the batter just as if they were attempting a throw and the batter wasn't out. It's not on the batter to get out of the way in those situations from my understanding

  4. #4
    Checking out the clubhouse erniekru's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Posts
    45
    Thanks
    11
    Thanked 24 Times in 12 Posts

    Default

    As long as the batter stays in the batters box, there can be no interference and the catcher has to move around the batter. If the batter leaves the box, then there's a problem. Runner closest to home should be out as well as the K

    The catcher should have thrown the ball after contact

  5. #5
    Softball Junkie Rolling Hard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    559
    Thanks
    5
    Thanked 123 Times in 100 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erniekru View Post
    As long as the batter stays in the batters box, there can be no interference and the catcher has to move around the batter. If the batter leaves the box, then there's a problem. Runner closest to home should be out as well as the K

    The catcher should have thrown the ball after contact
    ^^^^Best answer^^^^

  6. #6
    Learning everyday NBECoach's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    37
    Thanks
    24
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts

    Default

    The catcher needs to throw the ball even if the throw only goes 5 feet because of the out of batters box contact. Then and only then can interference be called. Without the throw there is no play.

    A similar situation is the catcher throwing out a runner going to 1B who is out of the running lane. The catcher must throw the ball and have it hit the runner outside the running lane for interference to be called. Otherwise no play and the runner is safe.

  7. #7
    MTR
    MTR is online now
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,271
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 713 Times in 492 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erniekru View Post
    As long as the batter stays in the batters box, there can be no interference and the catcher has to move around the batter. If the batter leaves the box, then there's a problem. Runner closest to home should be out as well as the K
    This hasn't been true for a while, at least since 2006 in USA. If the batter makes any movement not natural to the swing or moves within the box if there is no swing, and interferes with the catcher attempting to make a play, it is interference. If the batter was not out on the pitch, the batter is ruled out and runners return. If the batter is out at the time of the INT, the runner closest to home is ruled out and any other runners are returned

    The catcher should have thrown the ball after contact
    Could have, but not necessary for an INT call

  8. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to MTR For This Useful Post:

    CPEM (01-10-2019), Fort83 (01-09-2019), GunnerShotgun (01-09-2019), marriard (01-08-2019)

  9. #8
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,140
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,588 Times in 939 Posts

    Default

    Lot of misinformation in this thread.

    No, it is not the same as a running lane violation where a throw is required. A running lane violation is not actually interference with the throw, it is with the defense receiving the throw at 1st base. So there must be a throw and it must be a quality throw. If the catcher throws the ball in the dirt or air mails it into right field it is nothing. In the play posted if the batter gets in the way of the catcher trying to throw the ball and forces the catcher to pull up from throwing it is still interference.

    No, as long as the batter remains in the box they are not necessarily protected from being called for interference. They must remain stationary in the batters box, if they are moving around inside the box and interfere with the catchers attempt to play on another runner they are guilty of interference.

  10. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    CPEM (01-10-2019), GunnerShotgun (01-09-2019)

  11. #9
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball chinamigarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3,997
    Thanks
    405
    Thanked 2,643 Times in 1,156 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fuzzy2651 View Post
    I would think the catcher needs to avoid the batter just as if they were attempting a throw and the batter wasn't out. It's not on the batter to get out of the way in those situations from my understanding
    The batter, regardless of whether she is out or not yet out, cannot walk in front of the catcher and get in the way of the catcher trying to make a throw. It may not be the batters responsibility to get out of the way, but in this case she clearly put herself in the way.

  12. #10
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball chinamigarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3,997
    Thanks
    405
    Thanked 2,643 Times in 1,156 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by erniekru View Post
    As long as the batter stays in the batters box, there can be no interference and the catcher has to move around the batter. If the batter leaves the box, then there's a problem. Runner closest to home should be out as well as the K

    The catcher should have thrown the ball after contact
    Not necessarily, the batters box isn't a "safe zone" for the batter. Just being in the box doesn't give her carte blanche to interfere. If the catcher is throwing and the batter who never leaves the box, moves in to her way, its interference.


  13. The Following User Says Thank You to chinamigarden For This Useful Post:

    Fort83 (01-09-2019)

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •