Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Bases Loaded Walk- 3rd out recorded prior to the runner crossing the plate

  1. #11
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,582 Times in 935 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Umpire171 View Post
    I believe this has come up before, they are not entitlement to be put out when they are required the next base on a walk so the run should count. so they are protected in that sense.
    Each runner advances without liability to be put out if forced on a walk, but that does not mean the run automatically scores. The ball is live on a base on balls and all base runner rules still apply. With 2 outs if one of those runners goes past the base they were entitled to and gets put out before the lead runner touches home plate the run does not count. NFHS used to count the run regardless, but has changed their ruling and it the case play was provided above. USA has never said the run would count.


  2. #12
    MTR
    MTR is offline
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball MTR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,267
    Thanks
    1
    Thanked 712 Times in 491 Posts

    Default

    In USA, and now apparently NFHS, the award is to the batter and the batter alone. The only reason there is any protection to any other runner (to the next base only) is because they are being forced to move up. The runner is not rewarded for a ball to the batter

  3. #13
    Checking out the clubhouse Umpire171's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Comp View Post
    Each runner advances without liability to be put out if forced on a walk, but that does not mean the run automatically scores. The ball is live on a base on balls and all base runner rules still apply. With 2 outs if one of those runners goes past the base they were entitled to and gets put out before the lead runner touches home plate the run does not count. NFHS used to count the run regardless, but has changed their ruling and it the case play was provided above. USA has never said the run would count.
    I never claim the run would count i just said that the runners are awarded next base on walk before being able to get them out. Now would this be timing play or force play? i don't have my rule book i am waiting for new one but the rule needs to be quoted in here

  4. #14
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,132
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,582 Times in 935 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Umpire171 View Post
    I never claim the run would count i just said that the runners are awarded next base on walk before being able to get them out. Now would this be timing play or force play? i don't have my rule book i am waiting for new one but the rule needs to be quoted in here
    You did say the run should count. Directly from your comment.
    they are not entitlement to be put out when they are required the next base on a walk so the run should count
    You wont find it in the rules because no rule has changed, only the approved ruling has changed and the case play has been posted.

  5. #15
    Checking out the clubhouse WVSteven's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2019
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Umpire171 View Post
    I never claim the run would count i just said that the runners are awarded next base on walk before being able to get them out. Now would this be timing play or force play? i don't have my rule book i am waiting for new one but the rule needs to be quoted in here
    Timing play. If the runner from 3rd scores before the out is recorded it counts.

    From the 2019 Case Book (NFHS) page 71
    9.1.1 Situation D:
    With two outs R1, R2, R3 on base, B6 receives ball four. R3 touches second and is tagged off base before R1 has reached home base. RULING: Although the batter is awarded first base, all other runners are entitled to advance one base without liability to be put out. Once R3 passed second base, she is now liable to be put out. If this happens for the third out of the inning prior to R1 touching home, R1's run would not count. (2-63, 2-65, 8-1-1c, 8-4-3a, 9-1-1)

    The idea is that B6 is awarded 1 base. All other runners, since forced, are allowed to advance 1 base but those bases are not awarded bases. Therefore if out 3 occurs before R1 scores then the inning ends before the run scores.


Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •