Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Illegal pitch called after pitcher stopped motion due to ball from another field

  1. #1
    Checking out the clubhouse HH2019's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default Illegal pitch called after pitcher stopped motion due to ball from another field

    During a tournament game that was 1-1 a representative from the complex yells “Heads Up” do to a foul coming towards the field we were playing on. There were runners on 1st and 3rd with 2 outs. The pitcher stopped her motion and looked up along with other infielders. The umpire calls an illegal pitch and has both runners advance, which resulted in the runner on third scoring the winning run. The umpire said he didn’t hear it even though everyone else did and the 1st base umpire said nothing. What’s the right call? Should the runners have been allowed to advance?


  2. #2
    I can talk softball all day lancer360's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2018
    Posts
    105
    Thanks
    101
    Thanked 33 Times in 23 Posts

    Default

    I believe the field is live unless the ump calls time. It sucks the ump in the field didn't call no pitch or at least say something to the home plate ump afterwards. Can you appeal an illegal pitch call or is that one of those judgement calls that can't be appealed?

  3. #3
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball grcsftbll's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2015
    Posts
    3,516
    Thanks
    2,096
    Thanked 1,915 Times in 1,134 Posts

    Default

    IME they will usually not call an illegal pitch if the ball actually comes onto the field. That's happened to us several times in different tournaments. Then blue calls time while the nearest fielder throws it back out. But if it's just a response to yelling "Heads up" and there's no ball actually on your field, yeah, I'd think they'd call that. Probably because you hear "heads up" 800 times in a tournament so pitchers have to block that out.
    Softball Mom

  4. #4
    Checking out the clubhouse dlsumpntx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    5
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

    Default

    When the umpire saw that the pitcher was distracted by the heads-up he could have easily and justifiably called time.

  5. #5
    Checking out the clubhouse HH2019's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    2
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by grcsftbll View Post
    IME they will usually not call an illegal pitch if the ball actually comes onto the field. That's happened to us several times in different tournaments. Then blue calls time while the nearest fielder throws it back out. But if it's just a response to yelling "Heads up" and there's no ball actually on your field, yeah, I'd think they'd call that. Probably because you hear "heads up" 800 times in a tournament so pitchers have to block that out.
    Yeah. The guy yelled it through the fence as he was taking pics so it sounded a little different than when someone yells it from the other field.

  6. #6
    I can talk softball all day SBmom8992's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    East Jabib
    Posts
    236
    Thanks
    229
    Thanked 178 Times in 94 Posts

    Default

    If it was blatant and indeed a foul ball wound up on the field of play I as the coach on offense would have tried to talk to the ump and conceded that the IP was a unjustified punishment for what could have been a dangerous situation. I just think it’s the right thing to do especially with a winning run as a consequence.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  7. #7
    Certified softball maniac GunnerShotgun's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1,860
    Thanks
    822
    Thanked 1,196 Times in 618 Posts

    Default

    Could have or should have but the bottom line is the ump didn't call time. It's a live game. A ball on the field means nothing unless the umpire calls time to address it.

    Also tell your pitchers once they start their motion to complete the pitch (even if it means throwing the ball elsewhere). Injuries can occur otherwise.

  8. The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to GunnerShotgun For This Useful Post:

    EcoT (02-08-2019), MNDad (02-09-2019), riseball (10-29-2018), SBmom8992 (10-29-2018)

  9. #8
    Checking out the clubhouse Umpire171's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    4
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Default

    a illegal pitch is not dead ball its dealy dead ball call with usa and babe ruth softball. so say batter hit it... it be nullifed this one should of been no call

  10. #9
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball Comp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    3,133
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 1,582 Times in 935 Posts

    Default

    Yes it sucks, but as was said in one of the responses, heads up gets yelled constantly at multiple field complexes. If the ball had actually come onto the field that is one thing, but the pitcher stopping because someone yelled heads up then that is something she should have continued with the pitch.

  11. The Following User Says Thank You to Comp For This Useful Post:

    MNDad (02-09-2019)

  12. #10
    I eat, sleep and breathe softball chinamigarden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    3,976
    Thanks
    402
    Thanked 2,621 Times in 1,147 Posts

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GunnerShotgun View Post
    Could have or should have but the bottom line is the ump didn't call time. It's a live game. A ball on the field means nothing unless the umpire calls time to address it.

    Also tell your pitchers once they start their motion to complete the pitch (even if it means throwing the ball elsewhere). Injuries can occur otherwise.
    I agree with you on completing the motion, but I am curious about what injuries can occur?


Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •